My First Few Days in ABC Form

Standard

I’m sorry for being so behind. I’ve been exhausted, sick, and busy. Also I have to start getting ready for class in five minutes, so hopefully I’ll get to post after I’m done with school and lunch.

is for alcohol, which everybody but me seems to be bingeing on.

is for bro, because there are tons of them here.

is for creepy older dudes. It seems they hit on me wherever I go.

is for diary. I didn’t bring or buy a notebook, so I’m writing everything in there.

E is for Evelyn, the only other student in my literature class who actually cares. Everyone else is just taking the class for a necessary credit and is highly unenthusiastic. They’re all going to hate me.

is for fried foods, which are in abundance here.

G is for grilled cheese, meaning that I ate the best grilled cheese of my life the other night.

is for heat, because it is hot here. Also the dorm has no air conditioning.

is for ice, or lack thereof.

is for James. Henry James. I’m reading Daisy Miller right now.

K is for kindness. I’ve tried to have superb manners so the people here won’t think every American is rude and selfish. Plus I’m trying to make up for the next letter…

is for language barrier. Hardly knowing any German makes me feel pretty stupid.

M is for muesli, a super-healthy European cereal that I now have the pleasure of eating with yogurt every day.

is for new people and new friends. An obvious one.

O is for outdoor bars. One bar I went to is in the middle of a park and right next to a playground.

P is for pizza, which every other restaurant here is dedicated to.

Q is for questions. “What” and “where” are my most common so far.

R is for rain. It’s been raining a lot, which means everything is about to get colder. I’m glad I packed so many sweaters and pairs of pants now.

S is for sickness, because I’m still not better. Well, I’m almost better. The only issues at the moment are my sore throat and sneezing. It beats pinkeye.

T is for tours and traveling. Tours will take up my weekdays, and traveling will hopefully take up my weekends.

U is for unable, as in, I’m unable to adjust my sleeping schedule to this time zone, and it really sucks.

V is for Vienna, because I really want to go and I’m having trouble finding people who care about Vienna as much as I do.

W is for water. Bottled water, specifically. I have been downing that like crazy.

X is for xenophobe. Okay, the locals aren’t afraid of us, but they don’t really like us. I don’t blame them. We’re loud people.

Y is for yesterday, because that was my first day of classes. I know, I’m running out of ideas.

Z is for… no, fuck z.

Leave a Reply

