Safari: Day 1

Gallery

My first day on safari was all about learning. Since I had never done anything like this before (I don’t know whether I should let the “safari” ride at Disney World count), I was obviously thrust into a realm of new experiences. I learned a little bit (not nearly as much as I did in the following days, trust me) about taking photos of animals, a lot about wind chill and how cold it gets outside after the sun starts going down (I guess this was more of a reiteration, but I really learned to appreciate the sun during my time in South Africa), how rapidly and drastically light can change, and about the practice of sundown, which is basically stopping the car for drinks (and a snack, which is much more important for me) and enjoying the sunset. Sundown is also an awesome opportunity to pee outside, and peeing outside is really fun. And I obviously learned about the animals I saw and what they liked, which led to what the game driver called “happy days.”

The most important things I learned on day one were that I should always bring my entire camera with me and it was really great that I didn’t sell my telephoto lens, because I finally had the perfect opportunity to use it. (Or at least what I felt was the perfect opportunity. In the past I’d only used it to spy on people, which probably wasn’t the best use for it even though I enjoyed it.) My photos from my next four days on safari are much better because I actually brought the telephoto lens with me. Hopefully these will still suffice for a post or impress somebody.

Scenery/making sure my camera settings were right

The gang

A nyala. I like to say “hey y’all” to them.

A cheetah and her big babies

Sundown

I took way more pictures over the next four days, so those posts will be much better. Especially since I used my telephoto lens. I promise.

By the way, does anybody know an easier way to upload photos on here? The mass uploader won’t work for me for some reason. The browser uploader is okay, but yeah, I’m uploading a lot of photos and I really don’t want to spend hours doing it. Would updating my safari browser make any differences? I feel like the way I’m going about uploading photos on here is a little archaic. Any advice would help me greatly – I’m a bit of a luddite, and computers really stump me, which is fantastic since I’m a journalism major.
Stay tuned for my later posts, because those pictures are so much better.

One thought on “Safari: Day 1

Leave a Reply

